This Too Shall Pass… Someday

So I am just having a not-very-good run of things lately. And the last thing that I want is for this blog (or any of my social media accounts) to turn into outlets for my complaints and venting. So the best alternative is to simply not write anything.  Some my issues may be related to changes in medications, and hopefully that will work itself out over the next week or two. Then there’s just the fact that it feels like life is shitting on me daily. But this too shall pass, and when it does, I’ll blog more regularly again. I promise.  In the meantime, if I cook anything good I’ll let you know, but I’ve had more than a few failures in the past couple of weeks, so I’m not even optimistic about that!

 On a more relevant note, I’m still fighting the sugar monkey on my back. I just cannot cut sugar. Based on my attempts, I’ve deduced that if I want to get rid of it, I’m going to have to a) deal with increased migraines for a few days, which I don’t have time for right now, b) deal with worse mood for more than a few days (which I don’t want to impose on the people around me right now, I feel like I’m probably unpleasant enough) and c) lock myself in my apartment (or some other location) where I cannot possibly leave and access a store in a moment of weakness. I know that the sugar addiction is largely biological and its grip on me is much stronger than I realized. I’m working on changing my mindset from one of disappointment in myself for lack of self control to one of a need to break an addiction that has nothing to do with my mental strength or lack thereof. It’s a difficult mental transition. For more reading about it, I highly recommend Dr. Mark Hyman’s 10 Day Detox (his website is here – if you don’t want to read the book, there’s a lot of great articles and videos on there).  (At some point, when I am able to successfully cut out sugar and actually do this detox properly, which, aside from the sugar, is not difficult, I’ll write about it, but I don’t feel like my current attempt is worth it given my failures with sugar)

 Anyway, I hope to be back and talk to you soon. And if you see me in the next few days/weeks, I could really use a hug.

EDIT 8:20 PM: And just because things weren’t shitty enough, I (accidentally) flushed my Fitbit down the toilet.  And cannot afford a new one.  UGH.

One thought on “This Too Shall Pass… Someday

  1. I hope you manage to do the full detox soon. I was getting daily migraines and headaches before I did it and after the 10 days of detox plus a couple of weeks on the basic plan, I’m getting just one or two per week. Result.

Leave a Reply

