40 Bags in 40 Days – My Decrapifying Plan

As I get rid of food, eating habits, activities and certain thinking patterns that no longer serve me, it makes sense that I should try to do the same with the rest of my life.  Get rid of the things (tangible and not) that are no longer serving me. I’ve been told many times that a cluttered desk reflects the state of one’s mind.  My desk and many other parts of my living area have become quite cluttered, and, as part of becoming my best self, I would really like to address this.  Which, I think, involves and requires decluttering (or decrapifying) everything else that I’m not already tackling with diet, exercise and meditation.  Followed by actual cleaning. I’m not a hoarder, but I’m definitely a bit of a packrat and not very good at staying organized.  I love getting organized, but I’m not great at staying that way.  I know, however, that the less “stuff” I have to organize, the easier it is to keep it that way.  And an organized life will absolutely help me along this journey.

So it was perfect timing that I came across this 40 Bags in 40 Days Decluttering Challenge (via White House Black Shutters) on a friend’s blog.  Go check them out (in another window obviously), then come back, I’ll wait.

Image via www.whitehouseblackshutters.comSo it starts today, meant to coincide with the first day of Lent.  Lent is not part of my religious heritage and that connection is not what is motivating me (nor, however, is it pushing me back).  If you are in any way offended by the ties to Lent, you can think of it as an early spring cleaning that will leave you ready for spring when (if) it finally arrives.  Even though I don’t actually observe Lent, I like the idea of finishing on Easter, and because Lent is actually longer than 40 days (informative article here if you (like me) weren’t aware of that), I’m going to take Sundays off (or Saturdays – whichever day has nicer weather is the day that I will NOT spend extra time cleaning!)

Anyway, like I said, I’m starting today.  The first area I have selected to tackle is my car.  I hate how much crap is in my car, but I just never have the time/energy to do anything about it.  Well, that changes today.  It will be a challenge to keep this project up as I go out of town for a few days later this week, but I can spend at least two of those days focusing on my getting rid of/organizing some of my stuff that’s still at my parents’ house, so those days won’t necessarily be lost.  My tentative plan for the first week is as follows:

3/5: Car
3/6: Bathroom: Medicine
3/7: Bathroom: Toiletries/Cosmetics
3/8: Clean bathroom
3/9: Day off
3/10 & 3/11: Go through stuff @ parents’ house

Are you doing this?  Have you done something like this?  If you are, let’s support each other! I’ll check back in here next week with my progress!

Leave a Reply

