Moderation, or Lack Thereof

Moderation. Not really a concept I’m familiar with (or good at exercising). This itself is hardly news, I mean I certainly didn’t gain weight by eating in moderation and further moderating my health with exercise. And for that, I’m currently paying, as you already know because I’m documenting it and you’re reading about my journey here.

But, sometimes I forget that moderation is a 2 way street and I overdo it in the other direction. Example A:
Feet Up Wall
Those are my feet. Up my bedroom wall. I am currently lying on the floor, with my feet up the wall, trying undo some of the pain and suffering I brought upon myself by completely overdoing it today. Because for some reason, a walk, circuit workout, body weight squat routine and a 5.5 mile hike all in the same day sounded like a totally reasonable idea to me this morning. It still sounded reasonable when I headed out on the trail (having already done everything else listed), opting for the unpaved portion first, which was all but impassable in many places thanks to the mud and water, as you can see in the following pictures:

2014-02-19 13.51.10 Muddy trail
In fact, it didn’t occur to me that I might be overdoing it until the mid-point of my hike, where I returned to the paved trail and realized that my feet might never forgive me. Of course, at that point, I still had almost 3 miles to walk back to my car.  At least it was really pretty.

Shelby Bottoms Greenway 2014-02-19 14.31.32Shelby Bottoms Greenway, February 19, 2014quite colorful given the season and interesting plant life along the trail.

Anyway, because my feet and back weren’t enough, the rest of my body joined in and got angry when, having forgotten to bring a snack, I consumed an excessive amount of chips and salsa upon my return home.  And probably undid all of the good things that I did to my body today.  Super.

And so now I pay for my over exertion, under planning and over eating with foot pain, back pain, exhaustion, crankiness, stomachache and general uselessness. Fun times. Maybe I’ll be more careful tomorrow, but the reality is that I’m not likely to learn the art of moderation anytime soon, I just have to keep practicing. After all, I’ve been trying for most of my life and haven’t figured it out yet.  Which isn’t a reason to stop trying, but is probably a reason to stop beating myself up every time I fail to use moderation.

How about you? Are you good at self-moderation or are you more of a “go big or go home” kind of a person?

Leave a Reply

