Beautiful Saturday in Nashville

I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Nashville, but days like today certainly push me towards the love side.  February 1 and the temperatures were in the mid-60s with blue skies and sunshine abundant.  Clearly this kind of weather just screams “GET OUTSIDE” and, if I’m being totally honest, had it not been so nice out, I probably would have struggled even to get to the gym.  But it was perfect, so I headed out to the Harpeth River Greenway for a bit of a workout.

The Workout: (Total time: 1 hour, 30 minutes)

1.  I walked 10 minutes in one direction and then turned around and went back to the start.  This walk was easy and was basically my warmup.

2.  The actual workout (as tracked by the “Track My Run” app and my fitbit): I walked 2 miles at a fairly good (steady) speed.  After turning around, I ran the first 1 minute of every quarter mile until I returned to the start.

Thoughts:  The running part felt so much better than I expected it to.  I used to be an avid runner, competing in 5K, 10K and 10 mile races until some chronic pain issues put a stop to that about 2-3 years ago.  The pain remains an issue, but I’m learning to manage it and I listen very closely to my body to avoid pushing myself too far.  At the end of this workout, I definitely felt like I could have done more, but my brain overruled, reminding me that over-training or starting out too quickly is the surest way to injury and I am certainly not interested in that!

The workout also had a side benefit of putting me in a good (and productive!) mood for the rest of the day.  I made a chicken (with dairy) for my boyfriend, P, to eat for dinner, ate my own leftovers from last night and made my “Special Event Chile” (so called because of the time and $ that goes into it as compared to regular chile).  If it’s decent, I’ll post the recipe here tomorrow.  In the meantime, enjoy your Saturday night!

Leave a Reply

